The Rum Howler Blog

(A Website for Spirited Reviews)

  • The Rum Howler Blog

  • Visit My Online Memorabilia Store

  • The Rum Howler Interview (Good Food Revolution)

    Click on the Image to see my interview on Good Food Revolution

  • Industry Interviews

    Interviews

    Click the Image for Great Interviews with the Movers of Industry

  • Cocktails and Recipes

    Click Image for Awesome Recipes

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

The Rum Howler Top 10 White Rum Countdown Begins With Potter’s White Rum

Posted by Arctic Wolf on October 23, 2013

op10RUM 550Last year in December, I published my 2012 Rum Howler – Top 30 Rums list based upon a series side by side tastings that my Rum Chums and I completed last fall. All of the rums upon the final list were aged sipping rums, and the list included some of the most expensive (Appleton Estate 50 Year Old) rums in the worlds, as well as some of the best rum bargains (Plantation Guatemala Gran Anejo Rum).

This past summer, I completed a similar list for those clear (what we call ‘white’) rums we love to mix in fruited cocktails like Daiquiris, and Mojitos. Over the next few weeks, as I fill out the list, I will be providing my most up to date review for each rum that makes the grade. These lists are really quite fun to create, and I hope that those who follow this countdown (and who read the reviews) have some fun. Disagreement with my Panel of Judges is welcome, as are your own opinions about the list.

Potters White Rum

If you are interested in such things, a detailed explanation of how I came up with this list is available here:

The Rum Howler 2013 – Top 10 White Rums

This web page also contains the complete list in reverse order. (I will be filling that list out over the next several weeks, one rum at a time, countdown style as a sort of unofficial kick-off to my Rum Howler – The Year in Rum Awards.

I shall begin The Rum Howler Top 10 White Rum Countdown with the 10th Best White Rum as determined by my judges:

(Just click on the excerpt to read my review):

#10 Potter’s Superior White Rum

The Potter’s Superior White is produced in High River Alberta at the Highwood Distillery from rums sourced in the Caribbean. According to my understanding, all the rum used in the Potter’s blend has been aged for at least a year its the country of origin. As well, some of the rum is also additionally aged in oak barrels at the Highwood facility in High River, Alberta. The blend is charcoal filtered to be clear, and then is bottled at 40 % alcohol by volume.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I hope everyone enjoys the countdown!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,241 other followers

