The Rum Howler Blog

(A Website for Spirited Reviews)

  • The Rum Howler Blog

  • Visit My Online Memorabilia Store

  • The Rum Howler Interview (Good Food Revolution)

    Click on the Image to see my interview on Good Food Revolution

  • Industry Interviews

    Interviews

    Click the Image for Great Interviews with the Movers of Industry

  • Cocktails and Recipes

    Click Image for Awesome Recipes

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

Review: Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva Rum

Posted by Arctic Wolf on March 6, 2012

I was invited by the guys (and gals) at Riverbend Wine Merchants (Vines) to be the guest host for theirDiscovering the Finer Side of Rum Tasting event (held this past February 13). One of the perks for being the host was that I was allowed to select the rums for the tasting. Based upon my love for this particular Venezuelan rum, it was pretty much a ‘no-brainer’ that Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva be part of the mix. Since I was allowed to take the ‘heels’ of each of the bottles home with me after the event, it seemed natural to me that I should revisit my original review for this outstanding rum produced by Distilerias Unidas, S.A. .

This is a re-publication of that original review, I have provided much more background information this time around regarding the history and the construction of the Diplomatico rums. As well I have re-written the original review to provide more clarity and to fix some annoying typos.

However my original scores have remained intact. (There really was no reason to change them.)

Here is an excerpt from my review:

“… All the scents and smells from the nosing come through in spades when I taste the rum. There is a nice underlying nuttiness (walnuts and hazelnuts), some sweet caramel and some very delicious baking spices (vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar)…”

You may read the full review here:

Review: Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva Rum

Please enjoy the Review!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,234 other followers

