The Rum Howler Blog

(A Website for Spirited Reviews)

  • The Rum Howler Blog

  • Visit My Online Memorabilia Store

  • The Rum Howler Top Canadian Whiskies of 2013

    Click the image to find the Best 25 Canadian Whiskies of 2013

  • The Rum Howler Interview (Good Food Revolution)

    Click on the Image to see my interview on Good Food Revolution

  • The Rum Howler Top Rums of 2013

    Click the image to find the Best 30 Rums of 2013

  • Industry Interviews

    Interviews

    Click the Image for Great Interviews with the Movers of Industry

  • Cocktails and Recipes

    Click Image for Awesome Recipes

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

The Harvest Cocktail

Posted by Arctic Wolf on November 21, 2010

I am a little late with this posting as I was meaning to coincide the recipe with the fall Harvest here in Canada. But somehow I got busy and distracted and the recipe was forgotten for a spell.  I guess I am rectifying my mistake by publishing the recipe now.

The name of the Harvest Cocktail is derived from the name of the rum for which it was designed, Zafra Master Reserve Rum. In the Caribbean the word Zafra refers to the period of time set aside for the harvest of the sugarcane  which runs from January through to May. Zafra can also refer to the early autumn harvest  in Spanish and Arabic countries outside of the Caribbean.  Hence my cocktail for the Zafra Master Reserve Rum was dubbed The Harvest Cocktail which I thought would be a more familiar name and one which would keep true to the original intent I had when I  created the drink.

The recipe, it turns out, scales beautifully with the quality of rum used. The better and  more premium the rum, the better and more premium the cocktail.

The Harvest Cocktail

2 oz Premium aged Rum (I suggest Zafra Master Reserve)
1/8 oz Maraschino Liqueur
1/2 oz Dry Vermouth
Dash of Angostura Bitters

Ice
Frozen Blackberry

Chill a small cocktail glass until it is very cold.
Aromatise the glass with Maraschino Liqueur. (This can be done by pouring a little in the glass, swooshing it round and expelling any excess. The object is to coat the inside of the glass with a film of the Maraschino liqueur.)
Place the aged Rum, Dry Vermouth, and Angostura Bitters into a metal shaker with cracked Ice.
Shake until the shaker chills.
Strain into the chilled glass.
Garnish with a Frozen Blackberry.

And Remember to Enjoy yourself Responsibly at all times!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

