The Rum Howler Blog

(A Website for Spirited Reviews)

  • Copyright

    Copyright is inherent when an original work is created. This means that the producer of original work is automatically granted copyright protection. This copyright protection not only exists in North America, but extends to other countries as well. Thus, all of the work produced on this blog is protected by copyright, including all of the pictures and all of the articles. These original works may not be copied or reused in any way whatsoever without the permission of the author, Chip Dykstra.
  • Cocktails and Recipes

    Click Image for Awesome Recipes

  • Industry Interviews

    Interviews

    Click the Image for Great Interviews with the Movers of Industry

  • The Rum Howler Interview (Good Food Revolution)

    Click on the Image to see my interview on Good Food Revolution

  • The Rum Howler Blog

  • Rum Reviews

  • Whisky Reviews

  • Gin Reviews

  • Tequila Reviews

  • Vodka Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,085 other subscribers
  • Subscribe

  • Visitors

    • 14,819,363 pageviews since inception
  • Archives

  • Follow The Rum Howler Blog on WordPress.com

Rum Review: Santiago De Cuba Ron Anejo

Posted by Arctic Wolf on August 5, 2010

Pictured to the right is a bottle of Ron Anejo Santigo de Cuba, an authentic Cuban rum which was provided for me to sample. I was asked me to take the bottle home with me, try a few ounces and to provide an opinion. I decided it would be nice to share this opinion on my blog as well.

I have found very little information about the rum, other than what I can decipher from the label and the smattering of information on the internet where it is sold by some internet dealers as an 11-year-old rum, and others as simply an anejo rum without age statement.  I also ran across claims that this was Fidel Castro’s favourite rum.  A claim which I can neither confirm nor deny.

Here is a clip from my review:
..The mouth is clean and slightly sharp with orange peel, lime and oak spice.  Mild toffee and almonds combine with  charred coconut, and perhaps a hint of treacle. There is the vaguest hint of leather and smoke but these elements are underdeveloped…”

You may read the rest of the review here:

Rum Review: Santiago De Cuba Ron Anejo

2 Responses to “Rum Review: Santiago De Cuba Ron Anejo”

  1. Tommy Morgan said

    I have just got back from a trip to Cuba and this became my favourite rum (Ron) while I was there. 2 separate waiters in Hotels informed me Santiago de Cuba is the Islands finest. As with other rum’s there are various ages available, the oldest i saw (But couldn’t afford to taste) was 150yr old, this cost 1700 Cuban Cuc. If the cheaper stuff is a bench mark, that stuff must be the taste of heaven.

    • Hi Tommy

      Beware the assumption that price equals quality. I have commented in the past of how the ‘super-aged’ spirit is not necessarily priced in a matter that is consistent with the quality of the spirit which is in the bottle.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.